Upscale website design for any budget

Got2Mail Opt-In Mail Marketing Services
Jack Healey NSN Radio

Since we are already into the fall sports season, let me just catch up on one more set of All-MVL teams from the spring sports season.
The MVL All-League baseball teams:

In the “A” Division:

Rutland High’s Andy Kenosh, Andy Cassarino and Colin Clark. Coach of the Year Brattleboro’s Chris Groeger.

In the “B” Division: Pat Mumford, Dan Blanchard and Lincoln Pritchard of Division 2 state champ Mill River, Otter Valley’s Will Claessens and Shane Quenneville and Fair Haven’s Ian Misenick.

In the “C” Division: Poultney’s Sean Shepardson, Brett Kelley and Brandon Davenport and Woodstock’s Doug Avellino and Zach Cole. Coach of the Year is Woodstock’s Jason Tarleton

In the “D” Division: MSJ’s Shane Protivansky, Jonah Farrow and Zack Lanzillo, West Rutland’s Jeremy Avoli and Proctor’s Kyle Miles and Cody Landon. Twin Valley’s Jim Burke is the Coach of the Year.

The Vermont Sports Hall of Fame is accepting nominations for future classes of athletes and contributors through its website at This year's class will be the third inducted into the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame and many of the first 25 inductees came from nominations from the public.
The Vermont Sports Hall of Fame (VSHOF) is a nonprofit organization to recognize those individuals whose achievements and efforts have enhanced sports, athletics and recreation in the Green Mountain State. In addition to honoring those who make a significant contribution to the state's sports legacy, the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame will promote and provide inspiration in sports and recreation to the state's youth.

All sports will be represented in one of the categories: baseball/softball, basketball, football, golf, hockey, hunting/outdoors, motor sports, soccer, track/running, winter sports (skiing, snowboard, etc.), general (all remaining sports) and contributors. Multi-sport and multi-discipline candidates are also considered (participate in more than one sport or athlete/contributors). The VSHOF represents the accomplishments of athletes and contributors from all generations and all corners of the Green Mountains. In its first two classes, 10 of the state's 13 counties have been represented.
An official nomination form in PDF may be downloaded from Only fully completed official nomination forms will be accepted for consideration. Many questions about nominations or candidate eligibility can be found online at:
. Other questions can be sent to
The Vermont Sports Hall of Fame plans to induct its third class in November of 2014. The Hall has partnered with Prevent Child Abuse Vermont as its designated charity while Casella Resource Systems is the induction dinner and celebration sponsor.
Link to nomination form:

It might be too late to nominate for this year’s class, but keep in mind you can nominate for inductees in the future,.

Was it Vermont Day at Fenway last Saturday? I didn’t even know it. Boy what a lousy job on publicity by somebody!

Catch you next week!

Back to top

Finish Line

Duprey Captures Malta Win Closes In On Title

With only a handful of weeks left in the points battle at Albany Saratoga Speedway Billy Duprey drove from 15th to 1st to capture the win in the street stock feature and in doing so puts himself closer to clinching his 2nd consecutive track championship at the Malta oval. Kenny Tremont held off Brett Hearn in a battle of veterans in the modified feature. All was not lost for Hearn though as he clinched his 2nd consecutive track championship.

Hearn also won the 17500 to win Mr Dirt Track USA at Lebanon Valley Speedway on Thursday night and backed it up with at feature win on Saturday night at Lebanon Valley. Bernie Companion won for the 2nd week in a row in the pro stocks while defending track champ Jeremy Pitts won the sportsman. Good runs for Jake Scarborough (5th), Joey Scarborough (8th) at and Hunter Bates (15th).

At Devils Bowl Friday night Josh Masterson won the Late Model feature over Robert Bryant. The fight for the track championship still remains close between Masterson, Jamie Fischer and Emily Packard. Joey Roberts won the modified feature over Vince Quenneville. Stephen Donahue won the Renegade division and West Rutland’s Scott Fitzgerald was 3rd. Mike Whalen won the mini stock division Saturday night at Lebanon Valley Wayne Jelley won the 358 modified feature with Frank Hoard III coming home fifth.

The rains came at Fonda during the program postponing the remainder of the Night of Features the final night of points at Fonda. Stewart Freisen wins the modified track championship as Fonda goes dark for the fair.

Back to top

Don Chioffi

See Don's story on the home page!

Back to top